In-a-gadda-da-vida

Our little played Draenei couple, created at the release of the Burning Crusade, and now the heady heights of level 38, are a Warrior and a Priest.  We played them some over the weekend, heading into the jungles of Stranglethorn Vale.  (To be honest I’m trying to get ready for epic mounts at level 40.)

The Draenei Warrior, being the one Draenei on my main server, actually bumped a level 40 Night Elf Warrior off to another server.  (Someday, when Blizzard announces 20 characters per server, I suspect next, or next after, announcement for 3.2, I’ll be a very happy player.)

Anyway, this is just a random post.  I don’t know the song in the title, at least I don’t think I do, I had to Wiki it, but I did know the title, and knew it dealt with Heavy Metal, baby.  (I guess catching parts of Spinal Tap on VH1 this weekend didn’t hurt either.) 

And if I have heard In-a-gadda-da-vida (aka “In the Garden of Eden,” if you didn’t happen to be stoned out of your gourd when you were creating and/or transcribing the title) I probably remember it as a muddle of metal music, thinking “WTF, this isn’t as good as it’s supposed to be.  Put the Steppenwolf back on, man.”

Since Exilarch’s, my Draenei Warrior’s name, Charge isn’t gimped by Juggernaught, I did fly mob to mob like the good old days.  (Juggernaut gimps a Warrior in that only every other mob can be so approached.)  Charging place to place like I was in flight, in metal armor, like an Iron Butterfly.

So, reading up on the song I discover it, along with Hendrix, Blue Cheer, and Steppenwolf songs, heralded the creation of Heavy Metal from the Psychedelic music scene.  They all have in common insistently driving rhythms that typify music of the heavy metal style.  I.e. playing a Warrior is akin to being driving heavy metal, and like Steppenwolf put it, being heavy metal thunder.  (And like Austin Powers would add, “Yeah, baby, yeah.”)

So, that’s it.  For a Warrior leveling, I think Arms is the place to be right now.  I’ve got the Warrior level 30 class weapon, and it hits harder than anything else I can get my hands on at the moment.  Maybe I’ll never get my hands on the Fury Gear that will feel as satisfactory as my Arms gear that Msaker, my Orc Warrior, is in now.  And, still, mobility feels good, Warbringer is the last option for that, Juggernaut’s extended cooldown on Charge has absolutely nerfed the good feeling it once gave, and maybe Protection is where I ought to spend more time. 

Regardless, Warriors are the heavy metal of WoW, and that’s probably why I like them.

About Kinless

Gamer. Engineer. Lived lots of places.
This entry was posted in Warriors. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In-a-gadda-da-vida

  1. Anonymous says:

    Just wondering if you knew they have mounts at 30 now?

  2. Kinless says:

    Oh yeah. Our two Draenei are riding those big ugly Elekks. Some armor plating to hide them under, and a turbo charged speed boost, will make them almost tolerable. And my wife’s Blood Elf dinged the real 40 and got her mount. My Belf was only 30-something when he got his.

Leave a Reply

